Sherman Alexie
Sherman a Alexie’s Substack Audio
The Last Teriyaki Joint in the World
33
0:00
-3:18

The Last Teriyaki Joint in the World

a short essay
33


Last night, I picked up teriyaki from my favorite place and learned it was the last day for the owners—a married couple. They’d sold the business and were heading into retirement. I was surprised by the depth of my sadness. I wiped away tears. They’d been my teriyaki joint for twenty-one years. I asked them about their future plans. The wife said, “I’ll visit my sisters in Korea more often.” The husband said, “I’ll take two long walks every day.”

I shook their hands and wished them well. They thanked me for being a longtime customer. Then I left.

They were people that I barely knew, but still somehow love, and I grieve the loss.

This is what happens as we age. Our doctors retire. Our bankers move to new cities. Our high school sweethearts pass away.

I think of my siblings. Soon enough, one of us will be the only one left. Does anybody anywhere want to the one who has to turn off the last light?

33 Comments
Sherman Alexie
Sherman a Alexie’s Substack Audio
Poetry, fiction, and essays by Sherman a alexie
Listen on
Substack App
RSS Feed
Appears in episode
Sherman Alexie