Sherman Alexie
Sherman a Alexie’s Substack Audio
Fatherhood
3
0:00
-13:54

Fatherhood

Variations on a theme
3

Hello, everybody,

I posted a poem on my Instagram on Sunday about fatherhood and, as is my regular habit, I immediately started rewriting. So here is the original poem as posted and a few variations on the theme. I go into more detail on the audio version of this post but I’ll say here that it’s a beneficial exercise to dramatically change the tone and meaning of a poem simply by changing, adding, and subtracting a few words or lines. It demonstrates the enormous power of editing and revision. Also note that one can change the meaning and tone of a poem by simply changing the title.


Fatherhood
I still sometimes step
on stray Legos
that escaped their toy box
and went solo
two decades ago.

After the Divorce
I still sometimes step
on stray Legos
that escaped their toy box
and went solo
two decades ago.

After the Divorce
She still sometimes steps
on stray Legos
that escaped the toy box
and went solo
two decades ago.

After the Divorce
The mother sometimes
steps on stray Legos
that escaped the toy box
and went solo
three years ago.

The Prodigal Son Returns Home
I step on Lego bricks
that escaped
my toy box
and went solo
two decades ago.

After His Father’s Funeral

The son steps 
on Lego bricks
that escaped
the toy box
and went solo
two decades ago.

Child’s Funeral
I step on Lego bricks
that escaped
my son’s toy chest
and went solo
three days ago.

Child’s Funeral
I step on Lego bricks
that escaped
my son’s toy chest
and went solo
three decades
or three years
or three days ago.

3 Comments
Sherman Alexie
Sherman a Alexie’s Substack Audio
Poetry, fiction, and essays by Sherman a alexie
Listen on
Substack App
RSS Feed
Appears in episode
Sherman Alexie